

MINNESOTA BOARD OF FIREFIGHTER TRAINING AND EDUCATION 445 MINNESOTA ST., STE 146 ST PAUL, MN 55101 TELEPHONE: 651-201-7257 FAX: 651-215-0525 EMAIL: fire-training.board@state.mn.us WEBSITE: www.mbfte.org

# Full Time Firefighter/Fire Officer Information to be used when considering Job Postings for any Full Time Firefighter Position including Fire Chief and other disciplines

#### **Firefighter Licensing:**

The State of Minnesota mandates that all full time firefighters be licensed per MN Statute 299N. Licensing is available to non-career firefighters but is not mandatory. Licensing is processed through the Minnesota Board of Firefighter Training and Education (MBFTE). The term firefighter, according to MN Statute 299N.03 subd.5 (a) "full-time firefighter" means a person who is employed and charged with the prevention and suppression of fires within the boundaries of the state on a full-time, salaried basis and who is directly engaged in the hazards of firefighting. Full-time firefighter does not include a volunteer, part-time, or paid-on-call firefighter.

To be licensed, an individual must;

- 1. Be affiliated with a department as a firefighter, full time, part -time, paid- on- call or volunteer.
- 2. Have IFSAC certification, per MN Statute 299N.04, which includes training in:
  - a. Fire prevention
  - b. Fire suppression; and
  - c. Hazardous materials operation
    - i. To receive certificate, an individual must demonstrate competency in fire prevention and fire suppression.
    - ii. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit any requirements imposed by a local fire department for more comprehensive training.
- 3. Follow all application guidelines found on our website **<u>www.mbfte.org</u>**, under the "license" tab.

If an applicant has the appropriate IFSAC certification they can apply for licensure according to our guidelines found under MN Statute 299N. The Minnesota Board of Firefighter Training and Education will review all license applications received.

#### License Fees:

License application fees are set according to MN Statute 299N.05 subd (5) To obtain a license, a firefighter must complete the board application process and meet the requirements of section 299N.04. A license is valid for a three-year period determined by the board, and the fee for the license is \$75.

Fees under this subdivision may be prorated by the board for licenses issued within a three-year licensure period.

#### Licensing Frequently Asked Questions:

#### Q: Do paid-on-call, volunteer and part-time firefighters have to be licensed?

A: Per the statute it is mandatory for full-time firefighters to be licensed as a condition of their employment in Minnesota. It is optional for paid-on-call, volunteer and part-time firefighters to be licensed; it is not required by law.

### Q: I don't plan to become licensed but I still have questions about the 72 hour continuing education. Can you explain more?

A: Only licensed firefighters who wish to renew their license will need to comply with the continuing education requirement. The 72 hour continuing education requirement will be verified by the fire chief or chief designee on the license renewal application or online renewal application process.

#### Q: Can you explain the employment verification form on the website?

A: Every licensed firefighter must be affiliated with a fire department in the state.

#### Q: What is the advantage for paid-on-call, volunteer and part-time firefighters to become licensed?

A: The decision for paid-on-call, volunteer and part-time firefighters to license is a personal decision or department decision. The Minnesota Board of Firefighter Training and Education is required to carry out the statute which requires all full-time employed firefighters to be licensed. Licensing helps to establish and maintain professional standards that fire departments can use for recruitment and retention of firefighters.

#### Q: Does the firefighter, department, city or township pay for the firefighter license?

A: The MBFTE statute does not distinguish who shall pay for the license. The cost of the license is \$75 for a three-year period or pro-rated according to statute if acquired within the triennial period.

#### Q: Will our license status affect our ability to apply or be awarded FEMA grants?

A: No, Minnesota firefighter license status will not affect anything with FEMA. The license is required for full-time firefighters, by law, as a condition of their employment.

### Q: After a firefighter has been licensed for three years what requirements are necessary in order for them to renew their license?

A: They will have had to complete 72 hours of continuing education as certified by the fire chief, submit a renewal application or renew online and pay the \$75 fee.

## Q: I have been told that if I became licensed during the grandfathering period I will also be IFSAC FF2 certified. Is that true?

A: No, that is not true. The only way to become IFSAC FF2 certified is with the Minnesota State Fire Certification Board. Licensing under the grandfathering period only provides a firefighter with a Minnesota Firefighter license.

#### (The complete MN299N statute can be found on our website under the "Legislation" tab).